Sayings

Quotes – Famous Sayings – Funny Sayings

I shall pass through this world

Posted by azhttp on September 27, 2007

“I shall pass through this world but once. Any good
therefore that I can do or any kindness that I can
show to any human being, let me do it now. Let me
not defer or neglect it, for I shall not pass this
way again.”

Mahatma Gandhi

10 Responses to “I shall pass through this world”

  1. milamber2002 said

    Hi! A very profound and beautiful quote! However, this quote was incorrectly attributed to Mahatma Gandhi. Although an incredible human being with many insightful quotes to his credit, this particular quote was not one of his. Rather, it belongs to a past century French philosopher named Etienne de Grellet.

  2. Patrizia said

    Mahatma Gandhi did not write it, but Grellet, a french quaker who lived in New Jersey

  3. Beth said

    I always thot that Lincoln said that, but I have this quote on a wallet sized card that contributes a Stephen Grellet. Can someone pinpoint who really is the originator?

  4. Otto Sonefeld said

    The quotation appeared on the masthead of the Saginaw News (Michigan) every week of my young life. I do not recall whether or not it was attributed, but I will research old editions at the News and see what it says. I do not recall that it was Gandhi; Grellet seems to ring a bell, however.

    The Saginaw News version also used the term “any fellow man”, rather than “any human being”. I seems more likely the former term would have been used by Grellet, whereas it may have been more politically correct in Gandhi’s time to use the words “human being”.

  5. jenni said

    it does not matter who wrote this quote what matters is that we All learn to live by it

  6. Laurie said

    William Penn was the originator. He was a British religious leader William Penn (1644-1718).

  7. Isyaias said

    IMO Otto is correct. May be Gandhi use Grellet’s. However this is a good one.
    Be blessed.

  8. Ian Cullen said

    It’s a slightly odd philosophy according to this old (unattributed) verse.
    I shall not pass this way again,
    So it’s no matter what I do;
    I’ll mess the pasture, spoil the track,
    I do not care a damn for you.

    With broken bottles, empty tins,
    I’ll strew the road you’ve got to take;
    I shall not pass this way again
    So do not care what mess I make.

    If we all had to return to the scenes of our passing we would, perhaps, have more care to leave our bit of the world a little better than we found it.

  9. Kathy said

    The quote is from Etienne de Grellet du Mabillier, a French nobleman. He fled the French Revolution and came to the United States in 1795 where his name was anglicized to Stephen Grellet. He was inspired by the writings of William Penn, George Fox and the Quaker beliefs, and in 1796 he joined the Society of Friends AKA the Quakers.

  10. Aldous Yuzon said

    Grellet fled the French Revolution? Why? On which side was he on? If he was an aristocrat and part of the ancien regime, he had no business penning inspirational thoughts that would be quoted for generations. If he was on the side of the people, well, fleeing the revolution was hardly the wise and brave act of a person who passes through the world but once and must do whatever good act is expected from him.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

